Polish Party Time!

Standard

For my Mom’s 56th Birthday I wanted to do something really special. My Mom and I didn’t always get along wonderfully when I was younger and it seems like the older I get the more I really have started to connect with her. I’m sure many of you can relate… 😉 So I had been thinking and thinking about what I could do and it hit me… Over the Christmas break my Mom mentioned to me how her Dad used to cook the best Polish sausage but no one could ever get the recipe right when they tried (he took the recipe to the grave).  So I decide I was going to make polish sausage from scratch, REAL polish sausage! I sought out relatives, Google, books, etc… and went with my gut instinct on the recipe from my research. So for my Mom’s birthday I surprised her with a full blown polish celebration: Sausage, Perogies, Polish Mistakes, and Polkas – the whole nine yards!  The day before the party my Mom and I made the sausage together and I got to hear stories about my Grandpa and her childhood (I never met him since he passed before I was born). It occurred to me at this point that there was a lot of this (stories and memories) missing from our relationship so it was really nice to experience this and hear her accounts. I think my Mom was a little emotional by realizing this as well.

For the festivities we had a handful of friends over and made the perogies, Polish Mistakes, and of course drank FAR TOO much wine and beer! I felt terrible the next morning but very proud that everything turned out amazingly good! There’s just something so gratifying about making/eating 100% homemade unprocessed food (minus those Polish Mistakes haha)!

I’d like to share the Perogie and Polish Mistake recipes with you all. However the sausage will indeed remain a secret between my Mom and I. 🙂 Oh and if you’ve never made sausage from scratch it’s a huge PAIN IN THE ASS, but sooo very good and different from what you get in the stores.

Pierogies

Prep time: 1 hr

Cook Time: 20-45 min depending on fillings (potato takes longer).

Serves: 8

  • 5 C. All purpose Flour
  • 3 Eggs
  • 3/4 tsp Kosher sea salt
  • 1 TBS Sour cream
  • 1 TBS Oil
  • 1 C. Water
  • 2 Onions, sliced.
  • 2-4 TBS Butter

Instructions:

  1. Mix dry ingredients in mixer on low, then add wet, mix on low until dough like consistency. Add more flour or water until it’s right.
  2. Divide dough into medium sized balls and roll out through a pasta roller. Cut flattened dough into circles with a cup or cookie cutter. Should be about 4″ in diameter.
  3. Fill with your choice of stuffing. We did potato and onion, potato onion and cheese, kraut and bacon, and Ricotta and parsley.
  4. Seal pierogies with an egg wash or water. Par boil for 2 min then pan cook in butter with onions until browned.

Polish Mistakes

Prep Time: 5 min

Cook Time: 25 min

Serves: 8-10

Ingredients:
  • 1lb Beef, 85/15
  • 1lb Country Pan Sausage
  • 1/2 Block of Velveeta Cheese (this is about the ONLY thing I would ever put Velveeta in).
  • 1 TBS Garlic powder
  • 2 TBS Worcestershire sauce
  • 1 Loaf of small Party Rye slices
Instructions:
  1. Pre-Heat oven to 350 F.
  2. Brown meats, add cheese and spices.
  3. Mix well and spoon mixture onto little rye slices.
  4. Bake for 10-15 min.
These look very strange but trust me they are good!
It was such a fun time with good friends and good food!!! Time consuming for sure but well worth it!

28 responses »

    • THANKS! Oh trust me they were time consuming 😉 hahah. I will post a more “in depth” recipe for them soon. Peirogies are a great addition to the NFL recipe series, a great party food indeed!

  1. “Polish Mistakes”? lol 😀 What an awesome name! It all looks good – I’ve tried pierogies before, but never the other two… and I’ve always wanted to make my own sausages. Do you have any recommendations for a good sausage making machine? I was looking on amazon but none of the ones I saw seemed to have any good reviews 😦

  2. I used the meat grinder attachment for the Kitchen Aid and the Sausage Stuffer attachment, it works well, but not exactly “quick”. 🙂 If you have a kitchen aid and aren’t making over 10lbs I can vouch for this method… I couldn’t imagine doing over 10lbs this way tho. Cheers!

  3. I completely understand what you mean about your blog. Although me and my mom got along fine (because I always thought she was a crazy lady lol), me and her definitely have a bigger bond than we ever have. And this was such a wonderful daughterly thing to do for her :). Love the polish sausages.. you did great

  4. Polish sausage was an ambitious birthday present! But what a fabulous acknowledgement of how much she means to you…even with the rough patches. We’ve all got those–at any age! 🙂 Delightful! Debra

  5. Awww, this is definitely the most meaningful yet priceless gift for your mum and I am sure she will definitely treasure it!:) You are really a very sweet daughter to come up with this 😉

  6. I love this post on so many levels – the recipes, the food, the dedication in what you did for your mum. And also, I indeed can relate to the comment you made about the relationship with your mum. Now that I live far away from mine, when we get together we really enjoy to cook together, eat together and of course drink far too much wine together!

    • Thanks! That I’m so glad you like it! I thought so long about what to do and when I finally came up with this I knew how much it would mean to her. It was such a fun time and there’s nothing wrong with a little too much wine 😉

  7. WOW! What a grand 56th Birthday…Thank you Jen & Evan for the best Birthday Party ever. ” WE POLLOCK’S know how to PARTY, don’t we Jen”.

    Polish Recipe for an awesome party:

    2 Pollock’s (Jen and I)… Don’t worry if you only have 1 or 2 …Pollock’s in the kitchen… before you know it, everyone wants to be a Pollock and joins in as if they have some Pollock blood in them…Especially when they hear the song “Roll out the Barrels”.

    Then you add a lot of authentic Polish food….all made from scratch, from generations of old recipes passed down over the years….

    Homemade Polish Sausage, unfortunately when my dad passed away he took the recipe with him. WOW! Jen, I think my Dad was channeling you when you came up with this Polish Sausage….it was real damn close to my Dads Polish Sausage.

    You then add dozens of Pierogies filled with Kraut, Potatoes, Cheese you name it…and of course the “Polish Mistakes”…AH!, not sure why we called them Polish mistakes…you can’t eat just one….it’s like trying to eat one Lays Potato Chip….they are so decadent ….Jen made a few dozen for appetizers while we were making the rest of the Polish Feast….before I knew it, there were only 2 Polish Mistakes left. Yikes! I wrapped and hid them, so I could enjoy them when I got a break….unfortunately, someone found them and woofed em down. Oh Well!……The Polish Feast that followed was sooooooo…….delicious….As always the traditional Polish Birthday Party continued with tons of great food….Drinking….Dancing…..and tons of fun and laughter with my little Sweet Pea (Jen) and my new son-in-law Evan. And most of all those grand memories from my past that Jen and I encountered during this awesome 56th Birthday….OH! Jen, as I said before “You are my favorite child”…hee…hee. I couldn’t have hoped for a better daughter than you, I am a truly blessed mom. Looking forward to getting older…can’t wait to see what you are planning for my 57th birthday. Hey, just thought of it, you have never missed my Birthday or Mother’s Day. You started surprising me with parties since you were 5 years old and they just keep getting better and better and now…. yummier and yummier.

  8. Pingback: 10 Recipes You MUST Try! |

  9. My mom would make trays of these, ahead of time, before Christmas, – the ground beef. When family and guest arrived, would slide into the oven to heat & serve, they were a favorite, and of course there was the buckeyes, that she cherished, and passed out sparingly. lol Will try with the ground beef!

  10. Being from chicago, a close friend of my introduced me to “polish mistakes” and yours are pretty close to my adaptation that i made from her original. i always thought she was crazy naming it that. but they are fantastic. i use mexican velveeta. 1/2 – 3/4 of a small block, red pepper flakes, garlic powder, onion powder, cayenne, and pepper and im sure theres something im forgetting. but yes they look crazy and taste AMAZING!!

    • I had never had them/heard of them anywhere else other than from my Grandma. It’s always nice to hear that other people have had them. They are crazy looking but oh so sinfully good! I like how you used the mexican version of cheese, I bet they had a little heat, which I like! Thanks for stopping by!

Leave a comment