Delectable Shrimp and Grits… Oh and ZestyBeanDog is Still Alive :)

Standard

Well helloooooooo everyone! After many comments from friends and family I have decided to let everyone know that ZestyBeanDog is still ALIVE! After going through some big changes (career wise) I’m happy to say that finally… I think have my head glued back on straight! ย A little over a month ago I quit a marketing job of 3 years toย pursue my passion: teaching yoga and working with my Green Feet Fitness business fulltime. ๐Ÿ™‚ ๐Ÿ™‚ ๐Ÿ™‚ Also let’s not forget all the other full time jobs I have like: keeping a pretty clean house, being my husbands personal chef, doing laundry, paying bills, being a dog entertainer, and much much more. ย It was a long over due decision and I’m glad it’s finally here! Sometimes life gets in the way of hobbies but here’s to new beginnings! ย It will be so nice to get back to reading your lovely blogs as they are always such an inspiration to me. Thanks and MUCH LOVE!

This is a zesty spin on shrimp and grits, I hope you enjoy!

IMG_5091

Prep Time:ย 30 min

Serves:ย 4

Cook Time:ย 30 min

Shrimp and Grits

Ingredients:ย 

  • 1 C. Corn Grits (Bob’s Red Mill Brand is nice).
  • 24 Large raw shrimp, peeled and deveined
  • 5 Slices of uncooked bacon
  • 1 TBS Rendered duck fat
  • 1/2 C. Fontina cheese
  • 1/4 C. Parmesan cheese
  • 1/2 Stick of butter
  • 1/4 C. Heavy cream
  • 1/4 C. Milk
  • Scallions and Green Onion
  • Kosher Salt and Pepper
  • 1/2 tsp. Old Bay

Instructions:ย 

  1. Cook 1 Cup of corn grits as directed on package.
  2. Add cheese, cream, milk, and salt and pepper to taste. Cover and keep warm.
  3. Cook up bacon in large skillet on medium high. Keep grease heated and add TBS of duck fat to grease. Keep heat to medium high. Reserve bacon on a paper towel, once cooled break into pieces.
  4. Add shrimp to heated greased skillet and sprinkle Old Bay on top of shrimp as well as a pinch of salt and pepper. Cook for about 1.5 min on each side, until done. Don’t over cook.
  5. Place a mound of grits on a plate top with shrimp, then bacon crumbles, then scallions and green onions. Sprinkle with some parmesan (if you are feeling saucy) ย and garnish with a Meyer lemon wedge. ย Great with brussel sprouts!

Cheers enjoy!

26 responses »

  1. Your guest Jennifer must be from the NORTH, how could you be afraid of Grits one of the staples. You muct try them and you will be hooked Jennifer. I must have made 25 different recipes “Shrimp and Grits” and I will be trying this one. It sounds great!!

  2. Great post to mark your return, ZBD. I wish I had read this before I went to the grocery this morning. Oh, well. Time to start another shopping list.
    Here’s to new beginnings, indeed!

  3. Don’t know how I missed this, but I wanted to pop in and say “welcome back.” I’m so happy for you with the yoga teaching. I love yoga…and I love my yoga teacher! ๐Ÿ™‚ Good for you. I’ll look forward to whatever you share. I love shrimp and grits, so this was a good recipe to start with. And I must say I got a good chuckle at your job of “dog entertainer.” That’s so funny! Hugs!

Leave a Reply

