Tempura Veggies with Awesome Sauce and Voting Polls are Open

Standard

We had a sushi night last Saturday and it was amazing! I’m doing a 40 day yoga challenge and one of my commitments was to NOT eat meat… so I haven’t had any meat but some occasional seafood. I’m halfway through it and doing well. πŸ™‚ See the end of post for details on how to vote for my Marx Foods entry!

These tempura veggies are a light and tasty snack or side to a meal.

Serves: 4

Prep: 10 min

Cook: 4 min or until lightly golden

Ingredients for batter:Β 

  • 1 C. Flour
  • 1 TBS Corn Starch
  • 1 1/2 C. Club Soda
  • 1 tsp. Salt
  • Peanut oil

Veggies:

You can use what ever veggies you would like. I like sweet potato, bell peppers, Carrots, and Brocoli. Make sure you don’t slice too thick.

Awesome Sauce:

  • 1/2 C. Soy sauce
  • 1/2 tsp. Sesame oil
  • 1 TBS. Green onion
  • 5 Thin slices of ginger, fresh
  • 1/2 clove of garlic, minced
  • 1 tsp. Lime juice
  • 2 TBS Rice wine vinegar

Instructions:

  1. Slice veggies and make sauce.
  2. Heat fryer oil to 375 degrees.
  3. Coat veggies in batter, shake off remaining batter and fry for 3-4 min. Β Doing small batches at a time.
  4. Place on paper towel. Repeat until done.
  5. Serve with sauce.

Please vote for my submission to Marx Foods, I made a Chile, Yuzu, and Jasmine Tea Granita, it was DELISH! Β The voting polls close Thursday evening! Thank you so much for the support!

About zestybeandog

I live in Austin with my wonderful husband, dog Ginger, and cat Skiddy. We are a pretty laid back group (except for Ginger). When I'm not teaching yoga, personal training, or dog walking... I'm in the kitchen. I'm always experimenting with new ingredients and thinking of ways to prepare fresh foods in a unique way. I hope to update the blog 4-5 times a week. I've had several friends, family, and clients inquire about my recipes so here it goes. What to expect: Healthy recipes that are good for you, some classics (that have been spruced up), some not so healthy recipes (still made with quality ingredients that can be enjoyed in moderation), and beer and wine parings/reviews! I hope you enjoy, cheers!

22 responses »

  1. A great recipe, ZBD! I’ve just voted for you and in that greatest of Chicagoan traditions, I’m off to figure out a way to vote again … and again … and again …

  2. I wanted to see the awesome sauce (I mean, I saw the photograph, but “awesome sauce” interested me more than tempura). I was surprised to see that there was no yuzu in it — are you slipping? Perhaps a few brain cells missed their carnivorous diet. Off to vote now…

Leave a Reply

