Arugula and Prosciutto Pizza with Shaved Parmigiano-Reggiano and Serrano Basil Pesto

Standard

Evan made me this AMAZING pizza pie for my Birthday on Tuesday! It’s one of my favorite combos! It’s awesome! If you love pizza you MUST try this combo asap! He did a great job on everything, it was perfect. πŸ™‚

Prep: 1 hr

Cook Time: 20-25 min

Serves: 2

Ingredients:

Toppings

  • 6-8 slices of Prosciutto di Parma
  • 3-4 TBS Serrano Basil Pesto
  • 8 oz Fresh Mozzarella, sliced into medallions.
  • Salt, pepper, fine herbs (whatever you like).
  • 1/4 C. Parmigiano reggiano, the GOOD stuff!
  • Shaved Parmigiano reggiano for on top of arugula. Use a potato peeler.
  • 1-2 Lemons, for juicing.
  • 4 C. Baby Arugula

Crust/Dough

  • 1 (1/4 ounce) Package active dry yeast
  • 1 C. Warm water
  • 1 TBS. Sea salt
  • 2 tsp Olive oil
  • 2 1/2-3 1/2 cups Bread flour

Serrano Basil Pesto

  • 2 C. Fresh Basil Packed, big stems removed
  • 2/3 C. Olive oil
  • 2 cloves of garlic
  • 1/4 C. Pine Nuts
  • 1/2 C.- 3/4 C. Parmigiano-Reggiano Cheese\
  • 1/2 Serrano, seeds remain
  • Salt and pepper
Process and salt and pepper to taste.

Instructions:

  1. Dissolve yeast in warm water in warmed bowl.
  2. Add sea salt, olive oil, and 2 1/2 cup flour.
  3. Attach bowl and dough hook, turn to speed 2 and mix 1 minute.
  4. Continuing on speed 2, add remaining flour, 1/2 cup at a time, until dough clings to dough hook and cleans sides of bowl. Knead on speed 2 for 5 minutes. If making 2 pies split dough into 2 balls.
  5. Place in greased bowl, turning to grease top.
  6. Cover, let rise in warmest place in house away from draft until doubled in bulk (about 1 hour).
  7. Punch dough down each ball.
  8. Roll out dough as you like and place on your cooking surface. (stone, tin, pan, etc.)
    * I like to par bake crust for 5 min to make it CRISPYYYYYY
    To Top: lay down pesto, 1/4 C. Parm reg, Prosciutto di Parma, then place mozzarella on top
    Bake for 20 min and top with big bunches of arugula, shaved parm reg, and squeeze some lemon on thereΒ :)
    Enjoy and Cheers!
About zestybeandog

I live in Austin with my wonderful husband, dog Ginger, and cat Skiddy. We are a pretty laid back group (except for Ginger). When I'm not teaching yoga, personal training, or dog walking... I'm in the kitchen. I'm always experimenting with new ingredients and thinking of ways to prepare fresh foods in a unique way. I hope to update the blog 4-5 times a week. I've had several friends, family, and clients inquire about my recipes so here it goes. What to expect: Healthy recipes that are good for you, some classics (that have been spruced up), some not so healthy recipes (still made with quality ingredients that can be enjoyed in moderation), and beer and wine parings/reviews! I hope you enjoy, cheers!

31 responses »

  1. What’s not to love about this pizza! From the Serrano added to the pesto to the squeeze of lemon to “finish it off,” this is one fantastic meal!

  2. I’m so glad you had that last shot in the kitchen.. pizzas are turning up everywhere these days! I love your variation and that last photo shows how massive this pizza is!! Wow!!

  3. I hate to complain, but I will! I have had a rough week! This is comfort food, and I must indulge this weekend. I LOVE arugula, and that pesto is to die for! I will shop for ingredients tomorrow, and this will be Saturday’s treat! Good job, Evan!! Debra

  4. Well damn, another fantastic looking pizza. I’m not sure which one looks better – this one or the one from last week. I think, I think the one from last week has the edge (that was unbeatable I think!) but this one looks amazing too. Loving the giant pile of arugula on top πŸ™‚

  5. Happy Birthday! What an amazing pizza and compliments to chef Evan on a masterpiece :-). Classic flavour combinations can never go wrong, but the Serrano basil pesto puts this in a class of its own.

  6. Happy Birthday Jen. Your kitchen is so fun! The first time I ever tried rocket on my pizza, I was in Cambridge. It really is a nice combo with kind of that peppery taste.

  7. First of all, a belated Happy Birthday. Secondly, this is the second arugula and prosciutto pizza I read this week. (The other was hardcopy somewhere). Must be an omen to try it.

Leave a Reply

