Strawberry and Pecan Spinach Salad + OXO Giveaway : Good Grips Salad Dressing Shaker

Standard

Summer is here (I live in Texas remember) and that means it’s salad time in ZBD land. I love salads year round but there’s just something about the summer time that makes them taste better! Included in this post is a chance for you to win your very own OXO Salad Dressing Shaker! See details on how to win at the end of the post 🙂

Strawberry and Pecan Spinach Salad with a Lemon Poppy Yuzu Dressing 

Prep: 10 min

Serves: 6

Ingredients:

  • 6-8 C. Baby Spinach
  • 2 C. Strawberries, sliced
  • 1/2 C. Pecans

Dressing:

  • Juice of two lemons
  • 1/8 C. Yuzu Juice
  • 1/4 C. Olive Oil
  • 1/4 C. Apple Cider Vinegar
  • 1 TBS. Poppy Seeds
  • 1/2 tsp. Black Pepper
  • 1/8 tsp. Sea salt

Instructions:

The Salad Dressing Shaker by OXO makes it easy to measure with the handy measurements on the side. Add in this order for ease: Olive oi to 1/4 marker, yuzu to 1/3 marker, apple cider to 1/2 marker, then add lemon juice and poppy seeds/seasonings. Shake well before pouring. Can store for up to a week in the fridge.

My thoughts on the OXO Salad Shaker…

I love everything about it:

  • The rubber grip helps to well keep a “grip” on it even if you get a bit of oil on your fingers which is nice.
  • I love the measurement marks, I usually eyeball but this helps me for writing my recipes for dressings out and being a blogger that comes in handy a lot.
  • I love the simple spout thats sealed with a rubber grommet, it allows your finger to rest on top for added security. I haven’t had it leak out once no matter how hard I shake it. I’ve had shakers in the past where this is not the case and I end up with oil and vinegar all over my cabinets 😦 This simple design is actually the best I’ve seen. Best of all you can use it one handed!
  • It’s BPA free which is a plus for times when making a warm dressing! No leeching BPA’s into your dressing is always a plus!
  • It’s all sealed wonderfully so you can leave the dressing in the shaker for multiples days in the fridge, depending on your ingredients some may even last a couple of weeks.
  • It says it’s dishwasher safe, but I know this product will probably last me much longer if I hand wash it, so that’s what I’ve been doing. I like my gadgets to last a long time 😉
  • It holds a 1 1/2 C. capacity which is plenty for me.

I haven’t found any cons with this product and plan on doing a follow up in 6 months.

*I received 2 OXO Salad Dressing Shakers for FREE, one for myself and one to give away to one of my loyal followers. All opinions I have expressed are my own truthful ones. I have not been paid by OXO or any affiliated company to write this review. I signed up  for OXO’s Blogger Outreach Program.

Here’s 5 ways to enter to win: (doing all 5 means you have 5 entries) 🙂

  1. Subscribe to my Blog if you aren’t already and leave me a comment saying you’ve done so or already are an awesome fan.
  2. “Like” OXO on Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/OXO and  leave me a comment saying you’ve done so.
  3. “Like” ZestyBeanDog on Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/Zestybeandog and leave me a comment saying you’ve done so.
  4. “Pin It” (this post)  on Pinterest  and leave me a comment saying you’ve done so.
  5. Share This Post on your Facebook page and leave me a comment saying you’ve done so.
I apologize for any inconvenience but this is limited to U.S. Residents ONLY. 

Good Luck! The winner will be announced May 1st 2012! Cheers!

40 responses »

    • Thanks Mandy! AND Thank you thank you for reminding me! Unfortunately it is not 😦 I wish they would though! I need to do a worldwide one for my international friends asap!!! I have updated the post.Sorry again!

  1. I’ve been a lurker on your blog for a while now so I guess it’s finally time to comment! I’ve completed the 5 steps above (that’s me–excellent at following directions!)…who knows, maybe I’ll be the lucky winner. Thanks for the tasty recipes and fun stories! –Mel

  2. What a beautiful and colourful salad. The vibrant green of the spinach (and the Oxo dressing shaker) and the red of the strawberries makes it look like an amazingly tasty dish. I subscribe to your blog already. 🙂

  3. This is such a great looking salad and, with all of those strawberries, it just screams “SPRING!”. ‘m subscribed to your blog, ZBD, and thanks for giving us this opportunity. More than a few OXO products have made their way into my kitchen. It’s a brand that I trust.

  4. What a wondreful looking salad!
    My best friend was trying to talk me into making spinach salads the other day and I think I found the one to try first.
    I am not elegable for the giveaway but I wanted you to know that I follow your blog and follow you on facebook and look forward to your coming posts

    • Thank you so much! It’s an easy and tasty salad to make (and quite healthy) you should def try and let me know how you like it. Thanks for being an awesome fan! Sorry the give-away is for US only 😦 I hope to have one soon that everyone can do!

  5. I first found about Yuzu citrus fruits when living in Japan. Just think about what I was missing out on before that. Can you believe I spent all my early years without knowing about ponzu sauce? I know it is crazy. Great salad and dressing recipe.

  6. Pingback: Sausage and Porcini Pizza with a Homemade Pesto « Zestybeandog's Blog

  7. I’m sure the dressing is absolutely delicious, but isn’t that an absolutely *massive* amount? Maybe it’s a really large salad… or do you use it over multiple salads?

  8. What a wonderful & seasonal colourful salad! Yummy all the xay! That dressing looks equally tasty & fab! What a lovely dressing shaker too! 🙂

Leave a Reply

