Scallions, Medallions, and Mushrooms Oh My… Pizza Pie

Standard

It’s Pizza Time Again! Here’s a good one, well they’re all good who am I kidding…Anything homemade with cheese and bread is a winner in my book πŸ˜‰

Check out my guest post over at Marx Foods on …… Can you guess?????? Yuzu! Who would have guessed Yuzu???? HA! Well check it out it’s goes into more depth than I have on my blog of what it exactly is and why I LOVE it! I hope you enjoy it. http://marxfood.com/a-yuzu-recipe-collection/

I’ll be back next week, I’m officially signing off πŸ˜‰ Denver here I come I hope they have enough beer for us πŸ˜‰ You can follow the journey on Twitter.

I have some fun stuff coming up for the remainder of April: a giveaway and a foodie contest!

Prep: 1 hr

Cook Time: 20-25 min

Serves: 2-3

Ingredients:

Toppings

  • 6-8 slices of Prosciutto di Parma
  • 1/2 C. Scallions
  • 1/2 C. Shrooms
  • 8 oz Fresh Mozzarella, sliced into medallions.
  • Olive oil, about 3 TBS
  • Salt, pepper, fine herbs (whatever you like).
  • 1/4 C. Parmigiano reggiano, the GOOD stuff!

Crust/Dough

  • 1 (1/4 ounce) Package active dry yeast
  • 1 C. Warm water
  • 1 TBS. Sea salt
  • 2 tsp Olive oil
  • 2 1/2-3 1/2 cups Bread flour
  • 1/4 C. Cornmeal

Instructions:

  1. Dissolve yeast in warm water in warmed bowl.
  2. Add sea salt, olive oil, and 2 1/2 cup flour.
  3. Attach bowl and dough hook, turn to speed 2 and mix 1 minute.
  4. Continuing on speed 2, add remaining flour, 1/2 cup at a time, until dough clings to dough hook and cleans sides of bowl. Knead on speed 2 for 5 minutes. If making 2 pies split dough into 2 balls.
  5. Place in greased bowl, turning to grease top.
  6. Cover, let rise in warmest place in house away from draft until doubled in bulk (about 1 hour).
  7. Punch dough down each ball.
  8. Roll out dough as you like and place on your cooking surface. (stone, tin, pan, etc.)
    To Top: lay down oil, herbs, sprinkle with salt and pepper, Prosciutto di Parma, sprinkle Parma with a bit of Parmigiano reggiano (to act as glue), then place mozzarella on top, Then shroomies, Finally sprinkle with Parmigiano reggiano.
    Bake for 20-25 min until bubbly and golden add SCALLIONS last πŸ™‚
    Enjoy and Cheers!
27 responses »

  1. you all look like you are having a ball – oh my pizza looks great….

    we had a heavy frost this morning and it is a sunny 55 degrees this afternoon! really comfortable weather…

    my wife wants to know if you ever made a refried bean pizza?

    David in Maine USA

  2. Mm, scallions πŸ˜€ I wonder, I bet this would be awesome if you cut up the white, bulb parts of the scallions and place them on the pizza before baking, to they got roasted up nicely, and then put the green parts on at the end – that would be scalli-licious I think πŸ˜€

Leave a Reply

