Attack of the Greens Prosciutto di Parma Shroom Pizza

Standard

It’s Pizza time! I went crazy with the greens this time and used beet greens, swiss chard, broccoli greens, and KALE!  I couldn’t be happier with the end result, it was so tasty and hit the spot. 

Prep: 1 hr

Cook Time: 20-25 min

Serves: 2-3

Ingredients:

Toppings

  • 6-8 slices of Prosciutto di Parma
  • 1/8 C. Beet greens
  • 1/8 C. Swiss chard
  • 1/8 C. Brocoli greens
  • 1/8. C. Kale (yes MORE KALE muahahahha).
  • 1/2 C. Shrooms (not the magic kind, but you could prob swing that if you’re into that kind of thing).
  • 8 oz Fresh Mozzarella, sliced into medallions.
  • Olive oil, about 3 TBS
  • Salt, pepper, fine herbs (whatever you like).
  • 1/4 C. Parmigiano reggiano, the GOOD stuff!

Crust/Dough

  • 1 (1/4 ounce) Package active dry yeast
  • 1 C. Warm water
  • 1 TBS. Sea salt
  • 2 tsp Olive oil
  • 2 1/2-3 1/2 cups Bread flour
  • 1/4 C. Cornmeal

Instructions:

  1. Dissolve yeast in warm water in warmed bowl.
  2. Add sea salt, olive oil, and 2 1/2 cup flour.
  3. Attach bowl and dough hook, turn to speed 2 and mix 1 minute.
  4. Continuing on speed 2, add remaining flour, 1/2 cup at a time, until dough clings to dough hook and cleans sides of bowl. Knead on speed 2 for 5 minutes. If making 2 pies split dough into 2 balls.
  5. Place in greased bowl, turning to grease top.
  6. Cover, let rise in warmest place in house away from draft until doubled in bulk (about 1 hour).
  7. Punch dough down each ball.
  8. Roll out dough as you like and place on your cooking surface. (stone, tin, pan, etc.)
    To Top: lay down oil, herbs, sprinkle with salt and pepper, Prosciutto di Parma,  sprinkle Parma with a bit of Parmigiano reggiano (to act as glue), lay down greens (mixed up), then place mozzarella on top, Then shroomies, Finally sprinkle with Parmigiano reggiano.
    Bake for 20-25 min until bubbly and golden!
58 responses »

  1. Oh, man – that looks AMAZING! I have been really on a wilted-argulua-on-pizza kick lately (I blame Sagra!), so I’m going to have to get the boy to make me one of these. He’s the pizza maker in our house!

    • Thanks! I have been in a green frenzy the past month! I’m all for making homemade pizzas and lots of them. 🙂 I need to try Sagra asap… Maybe this Sat after the Beer Expo. 🙂

      • Do it, do it! We’re growing some lettuce right now in our allotment – can’t wait to try it.

  2. I love pizza and do you deliver.I want 2 boxes of your pizza. The combination you made is very nice .Now you’ve inspired me to make a pizza next week .So keep up the good work.

  3. I’ve never cooked greens in pizza, although sometimes I throw arugula or chopped herbs on it as soon as it comes out of the oven. I bet the greens taste good with prosciutto and ‘shrooms.

  4. I love all the greens! It wouldn’t occur to me, and it looks wonderful. I also love how you layer all that cheese! No sprinkling shreds…looks like mini-slabs 🙂 No wonder you filed it under “comfort foods.” Yes! Debra

  5. Great minds think alike! I also had pizza this evening! But yours looks extremely tasty,…waw!
    I also love your apart pizza dough! Yummy & I also love, love the toppings!

  6. Pingback: Stuffed Leg of Lamb | Rufus' Food and Spirits Guide

      • Thank you for your comment on my LJ post.

        I looked back through some of your other pizza posts and was amazed at the unique ingredients you’ve used as toppings. Things I would have never thought to put on a pizza.

        I started with the classic pepperoni, mozzarella, tomato sauce version many years ago but recently have started to expand slowly with fresh herbs, caramelized onion, goat cheese, smoked provolone and prosciutto. I hope to do a classic Margherita with fresh basil when this year’s basil crop arrives though I’ll have to substitute sun dried tomatoes as I HATE fresh ones. 🙂

      • You are most welcome! I def like to get creative with pizzas however, I did make a Margherita Pizza last night that I’ll be blogging this week 🙂 Great minds think a like 😉

Leave a Reply

