Brrrr…. It’s Cold! Have Some Chicken Noodle Soup :)

Standard

I love chicken noodle soup! Evan and I rarely get sick (knock on wood) so I cannot just wait until one of us gets sick to make it πŸ™‚ It’s good when you’re 100% I promise! Also If you haven’t already…please vote for my last blog of Bacon and Vanilla Fregola Cupcakes with Cream Cheese Frosting that’s in the Marx Foods Dessert Challenge, voting ends today at 12 PST, it’s easy no email or registration needed to vote! Thanks for all of your support. πŸ™‚

Prep Time: 20 min

Cook Time: 2 hrs

Serves: 4-6

Ingredients:

  • 32 oz Chicken Stock (use homemade or something like Kitchen Basics).
  • 1 C. Water
  • 2 Chicken breasts, raw and cubed into bite sized pieces
  • 2 C. Sliced or cubed carrots
  • 2 C. Sliced celery
  • 1/2 Large sweet yellow onion, diced
  • 2 TBS Fresh thyme
  • 1 tsp Salt
  • 1 TBS Zestybeandog Fine Herb Blend
  • 1/2 TBS fresh black pepper
  • 10 oz Homemade egg noodles

Instructions:

  1. Transfer stock to a large pot and turn heat to high, bring to a boil.
  2. Add vegetables and spices Set timer and cook for 20 min then reduce to low heat.
  3. Add chicken when it has been an hour and fifteen minutes and cover.
  4. During the last 20 min add pasta and cook until al dente.
  5. Salt to taste. (This will vary depending on your stock you used)

Serve with cornbread, crackers, or toast….maybe even a grilled cheese.

Cheers!

About zestybeandog

I live in Austin with my wonderful husband, dog Ginger, and cat Skiddy. We are a pretty laid back group (except for Ginger). When I'm not teaching yoga, personal training, or dog walking... I'm in the kitchen. I'm always experimenting with new ingredients and thinking of ways to prepare fresh foods in a unique way. I hope to update the blog 4-5 times a week. I've had several friends, family, and clients inquire about my recipes so here it goes. What to expect: Healthy recipes that are good for you, some classics (that have been spruced up), some not so healthy recipes (still made with quality ingredients that can be enjoyed in moderation), and beer and wine parings/reviews! I hope you enjoy, cheers!

18 responses »

  1. I’m just getting over the icky cold that’s going around and did make some chicken soup. Something about it that’s so perfect when you’re not feeling well. Yours looks yummy!

  2. I believe so, they announce the winners tomorrow for the public vote and the internal vote so when they make it “official” I guess is when I will know for sure πŸ™‚

    The ZBD Fine Herb Blend is a blend of herbs I make and often give away to my subscribers, I plan on selling them very soon πŸ™‚

    Thanks for voting!

  3. I love chicken noodle soup too – my favourite. It’s not meant to be cold in Sydney but it is. We’ve had the worst start to summer ever. So the soup season continues to be in full swing in fact, I had chicken noodle soup for lunch yesterday.

Leave a Reply

