Chunky Beef and Vegetable Stew for the Crock Pot

Standard

I should just start calling Tuesdays Manly Meal Tuesday’s. I made this yesterday for dinner in the crock since I’ve got class until late every Tuesday evening. It keeps Evan happy so that makes me happy 🙂 This is a great cooler weather stew that goes great with some homemade cornbread! The best thing about it… when you get home from work all you have to do is eat and enjoy!

Prep: 20 min

Cook Time: Low 8-10 hrs, High 4-5 hrs (I prefer low).

Serves: 4-6

Ingredients:

  • 1.5 lbs stew meat, try to get a quality grass fed organic beef of possible
  • 1/2 C. Flour
  • 1/2 tsp sea salt
  • 1 tsp pepper
  • 3 C. Beef Broth ( I like Kitchen Basics)
  • 1TBS Worces­ter­shire Sauce
  • 1/2 C. Red Wine
  • 1 tsp. Paprika
  • 2-3 Bay Leaves
  • 1 TBS ZestyBeanDog Fine Herb Blend
  • 2-3 Cloves of garlic, minced
  • 1 Large onion, chopped fine
  • 3 C. Carrots, chopped or cubed
  • 4 Celery stalks, chopped
  • 3 White potatoes, cubed (you can use Russet but I like these).

Instructions:

  1. Place cubed meat in a large plas­tic bag or bowl. Com­bine 1/2 cup flour (you will need it to cover your meat) with 1/2 tea­spoon salt & 1 tea­spoon pep­per; pour into the bag or bowl with the meat, then shake to coat. Then heat 1 table­spoon of butter in a large skil­let over medium-high heat. Add stew meat, and cook until evenly browned on the out­side, you want to sear the meat. It takes a few min­utes. Remove your stew meat & place into the crockpot.
  2. Take your finely diced onion and garlic and put it in the same skil­let, with 1 table­spoon butter, and cook so your onions are translu­cent and softened. Then add in your red wine to make sure all the good bits are lifted off the skil­let & pour the con­tents of the skil­let into the crock­pot.  It’s important to get all the good bits from the meat and the onions of the bottom of the pan, so you don’t lose the fla­vor.
  3. Now add the rest: ZBD fine herb blend, bay leaf, paprika, Worces­ter­shire sauce, beef broth, carrots, celery, and potatoes.
  4. Cook for about 8-10 hours on low or 4-5 on high. If you would like it to thicken up a bit cook the last hour with the lid off the crock, or you can add a little bit of flour… Enjoy!
Cheers!
About zestybeandog

I live in Austin with my wonderful husband, dog Ginger, and cat Skiddy. We are a pretty laid back group (except for Ginger). When I'm not teaching yoga, personal training, or dog walking... I'm in the kitchen. I'm always experimenting with new ingredients and thinking of ways to prepare fresh foods in a unique way. I hope to update the blog 4-5 times a week. I've had several friends, family, and clients inquire about my recipes so here it goes. What to expect: Healthy recipes that are good for you, some classics (that have been spruced up), some not so healthy recipes (still made with quality ingredients that can be enjoyed in moderation), and beer and wine parings/reviews! I hope you enjoy, cheers!

13 responses »

  1. Thanks! You are indeed correct, I’m already thinking of what to do next! Maybe you will win the next fine herb blend give-away! 😉 I saw your give-away today, I already entered! I’m actually enjoying a glass of wine right now and they only thing that would make it better were if it were aerated, hahah!

  2. This looks so good. Until recently I’ve never really used the slow cooker, but I’m starting to find it really convenient with the kids’ hectic schedules. This looks like a great one to throw in on a busy school day. 🙂

    • Thanks Kristy! It’s great for hectic schedules, I don’t know what I would do without one, I use it once a week normally! The thing I love most about it is- it really limits stopping on the way home and picking up something like fast food or spending too much $ eating out because your too busy or tired when you get home 🙂 Thanks for stopping by my blog!

  3. We recently got a slow cooker… just a mini one, perfect for two people and it’s SO awesome. We make slow baked apples with orange juice and sugar and raisins in – yummy! My wife actually made something really similar to this for when I came back from work on Thursday. She actually had the day off but had been wanting to try something like this for a while. My God the meat was so tender! She actually added a can of beer instead of wine, though I like them both ways. Bet the worcestershire sauce you’ve added makes a great addition! 🙂

  4. Pingback: Viral Menu – Moroccan Vegetable Stew

Leave a Reply

