Curried Chicken Naan Wraps with Tabbouleh Salad

Standard

I love curry anything and Tabbouleh, I could probably eat it every week! This is a simple week night meal especially if you aren’t making the naan, humus, and Tzatziki. All of those ingredients can be usually store bought if you’re in a crunch! I  usually make my own but when I made this I was exhausted and my husband laughed at me when I said this was my “easy cheat meal”…  Meaning I didn’t make it all from scratch…He thought I was crazy and loved it all. I felt like I was cheating, mainly because I knew I can make all of those things pretty well. It just adds another hour minimum of work and lots of dishes to clean 😦  Needless to say sometimes you just gotta cheat and it’s not like I caved and ordered a Domino’s Pizza :)… YUCK! So for all you Austinites out there if you need to cheat to make this meal go to Whip In pick up some house made Naan, some Grandma’s Hummus, and some Tzatziki (you can get the Tzatziki at HEB if they don’t have any, I have not personally bought the Tzatziki there only the hummus and Naan).

Prep: 20 min

Cook: 10-15 min

Serves: 2 -With extra tabouli left over for lunch the next day 🙂

Ingredients:

For chicken 

  • 2 Free range chicken breasts, about 4-6 oz each, cubed.
  • 2-4 Pieces of  warmed Naan  (you may want extra to dip in your hummus).
  • Grind in a mortar and pestle : 1 tsp Hot Madras Curry Powder, 2 threads of saffron, 1 tsp Garam Masala, 1/4 tsp Tumeric, and 1 tsp. black pepper. I will be making a ZBD blend of this as well available for purchase very soon!
  • 2 Lemons, juiced.
  • 1-2 Cloves of garlic, minced
  • 1 TBS butter
  • Cucumber slices
  • Tomato slices
For Tabbouleh 
  • 1/2 C. Wheat bulgur, soak in 2 cups of hot water for 20 min covered- until soft.
  • 1 Large organic tomato, cubed (get a firm one).
  • 1/4 C. Finely chopped mint, organic
  • 1/2 C. Finely chopped parsley, organic
  • 2-3 TBS Quality olive oil
  • 1/4 C. Organic lemon juice
  • 1/4 C. Scallions, organic
  • 1 TBS. Pepper, fine
  • 1 tsp. Sea salt
  • 1tsp. Garlic powder

Instructions:

  1. Soak bulgur wheat in water and transfer to a strainer, then to a medium mixing bowl. Add components from above and mix well. Refrigerate until ready to serve. It’s even better the next day 🙂
  2. Prep chicken and heat butter in large skillet on medium high until butter is bubbling. Add chicken and spices and toss so chicken is covered. Add lemon juice and cook until chicken is done. About 10 min depending on cube sizes. Get a nice browning on the chicken. Warm Naan in oven for about 4-5 min on 350 F. while chicken finishes up.
  3. Once done place chicken in Naan wraps and top with cucumber and tomato slices and drizzle to Tzatziki on top if desired and serve with a side of Tabbouleh and Hummus!
  4. I like to serve the hummus with some extra Naan. Enjoy!
Cheers!


About zestybeandog

I live in Austin with my wonderful husband, dog Ginger, and cat Skiddy. We are a pretty laid back group (except for Ginger). When I'm not teaching yoga, personal training, or dog walking... I'm in the kitchen. I'm always experimenting with new ingredients and thinking of ways to prepare fresh foods in a unique way. I hope to update the blog 4-5 times a week. I've had several friends, family, and clients inquire about my recipes so here it goes. What to expect: Healthy recipes that are good for you, some classics (that have been spruced up), some not so healthy recipes (still made with quality ingredients that can be enjoyed in moderation), and beer and wine parings/reviews! I hope you enjoy, cheers!

12 responses »

  1. Yay, I make my tabbouleh salads pretty much exactly the same way, though sometimes I add some lime juice as well as lemon. Did you ever try it with some grilled halloumi cheese? I agree – I could just eat the stuff until the cows come home 😀 Great looking dinner – a lot of my favourites (hummus… omg! – though since I started making my own and seeing how cheap and easy it is I never bought it since!)

    • Thanks Charles! Ohhhh I will try lime next time! The grilled cheese sounds wonderful! I usually always make my hummus, this was just one of those days where I needed REALLY quick and easy 😉

  2. If you love curry, then you must come to my country someday to try all sorts of different curry prepared by the various ethnic and cultures 🙂
    There’s Indian, Malay, Chinese, just to name a few 😉

    These look really good for light bites or even for a meal 😀

    • Thanks Christy! Where do you live? My in-laws travel a lot for work and we always visit them, this year we went to Korea and in 2012 we will be going to Singapore and Thailand! I cannot wait, my favorite part is the food! 🙂 Thanks for stopping by my blog!

  3. You’re in Austin! I don’t know how I missed that. Two of my favorite people live in Austin. Both are awesome writers and one moonlights as a food stylist. I love curried chicken, but only eat tabouli in tomato season.

Leave a Reply

