It’s my 100th Blog Post! Pizza made with Brussel Sprouts, Bacon, Shallots, and Garlic!

Standard

One of my favorite meals to eat and cook is pizza, I eat it once a week! So I figured why not do a pizza for my 100th blog post… I also will enclose a peek into what we ate over the weekend at the end of the post (as well as a very interesting cake we saw at HEB). I hope you enjoy and thanks for keeping me motivated to blog over the last 100 posts. Cheers!

This is my favorite pizza I’ve made so far! It was amazing! The brussel sprouts go so wonderfully with the bacon and shallots, it’s like a match made in heaven πŸ™‚ I even ate a slice today for breakfast, cold… just had to make sure it was still good!

Prep: 25 min

Serves: 2-4

Cook: 18-20 min

Ingredients:

  • Dough, make your own or find some pre-made or frozen dough. (Some speciality stores like Whole Foods or Central Market will have some). Enough to make a large 14-16 inch pizza
  • 15 Brussel sprouts, halved
  • 4 Slices of bacon, I love Applegate Farms nitrate free bacon.
  • 2-4 Shallots (about 1/4 C.), sliced long ways
  • 2 Garlic cloves, minced
  • 1 C.Β Mozzarella, shredded
  • 1/4 C. Provolone, shredded
  • 1/4 C. Parmesan Reggiano, shredded (and some extra for topping). * Remember! Use good quality cheeses for best results πŸ™‚
  • 4-5 oz ofΒ Muir Organic Tomato SauceΒ (add 1/2 TBS of herbs de provence, 1/2 tsp garlic powder, 1/4 tsp red pepper and pinch of salt and stir). I like thin sauce, but you can add more πŸ™‚
  • 1 TBS of an Italian herbs de provence for the top of cheese.
  • 1/2 tsp of Thyme for top of cheese.
  • 1 TBS Olive oil
  • Juice from one lemon for sprouts

Instructions:

  1. Pre-Heat oven to 375 F. Line a cookie sheet with foil and place brussel sprouts cut side down. Β Baste sprouts with olive oil and lemon juice. Bake for 15 min and remove from oven. Turn oven up to 425 F when done for the pizza.
  2. Cook 4 slices of bacon to almost done, (so it’s not completely crispy). I do it in the microwave for about 3.5 min on paper towels, but all microwaves are different so if you choose this route, just keep an eye on it. When done, cut bacon up in chunks, about .5 inch x .5 inch.
  3. On prepared dough, lay down sauce, cheeses, herbs, bacon, sprouts opposite side up this time, shallots, garlic, and then top with grated Parmesan Reggiano. Bake for about 15-20 min or until cheese gets golden and crust is crisp.
  4. Enjoy!

Sneak Peek into Zestybeandog’s Weekend….

Evan’s Fried Egg Sandwich, it was huge!
The whole shabang…
My Salad… House smoked salmon and bacon, a poached egg, with avocados and house dressing.

Evan’s First Bite: This thing was ginormous!
MAX and Cheese, Crazy good truffled mac and cheese from Max’s Wine Dive

Beer at the Gingerman
Crazy Barbie Cake at HEB…
Thanks for coming to the Zestybeandog Blog once again!
26 responses »

  1. For some reason I’ve never thought of placing brussel sprouts on a pizza. However, the flavor combos you have going here can’t be bad whatsoever. Definitely will have to give this a try. Continue enjoying your weekend!

  2. Congratulations on your 100th post – glad to be along for the ride with the next 100!
    Awesome pizza and my hubby has just starting enjoying brussel sprouts so thanks for the inspirational idea!
    Have a super day.
    πŸ™‚ Mandy

  3. Brussel’s Sprouts on pizza? I actually love the things, although I think you might make a few enemies with that idea – In my experience people get quite passionate in their hatred of the poor little things! πŸ˜€ It’s a great idea though – very unique and it definitely looks wonderful! Do you use a pizza stone? I got one a while back and used it for the first time the other day. I’ll never go back to tins again!

    • Oh, I also forgot to say congratulations! I’m coming up for my one year “blogiversary” soon. It’s always such a nice feeling to hit a milestone like 1 year, or 100 posts πŸ™‚

      • Thanks and congratulations to you too! It is a great feeling, considering when I started I never thought I’d keep up with it for over a year or to 100 posts! πŸ™‚ Thanks for stopping by!

    • Oh I know, when I was much younger…. you couldn’t even get me to eat something that had even touched a brussel sprout. Now I love them and absolutely loved this combo, in fact I’m pretty sure if you did a “blind” taste test on a brussel sprout hater they would even love this pizza…maybe πŸ™‚ I actually do something weird here- I either make a dough and cook briefly on a stone or pan with holes until it’s cooked and holds its form well (but still airy, not crispy), let cool. Then I top and bake until crispy, I like crispy thinner crusts… or I buy a pre-made crust from central market that seem to be good for time purposes.

      • “a pre-made crust from central market that seem to be good for time purposes”

        Cheeeeeeat! Cheatsy-McCheaterton!!!! Naw, I’m all for time-saving, if they’re actually good. Come to think about it, I’ve never seen pre-made crusts in France. I wish I could find them. They have pre-made dough but it’s ready rolled, and has a horrible damp, vinegar smell/feeling to it. Not good :p Still, that way it forces me to keep trying to find the holy grail of pizza bases! Don’t suppose you know a guy named “Andreas” do you? I only ask because he’s a friend of mine who lives in Austin now – was wondering if maybe that’s how you came to find me. He posted an amazing looking pizza base a while back which I’m still meaning to try. Must give it a bash sometime.

      • I know! You caught me, I’m a BIIIIG cheater! πŸ™‚ They are actually good, and they do save a boat load of time. I agree on the frozen balls of dough…yuck! I’m ok doing the pre made crusts if I want pizza spur of the moment and couldn’t pre plan for my crust… or else I’m not eating pizza 😦 (unless you go out or order in). You should start up a pre-made pizza crust company in France! I don’t think I know Andreas, maybe we have been eating at the same restaurant at the same time or buying groceries at the same time and happened to pass each others paths not knowingly πŸ™‚ I found your blog via a comment on another blog this morning and I’m glad to have done so!

  4. I made some pizza dough and had brussel sprouts and an obscene amount of shallots on hand, and google lead me here. I ended up using lemon pepper on the sprouts(only source of lemon in the house), making it a white pizza(no sauce in the house) and adding pear. It was amazing!

Leave a Reply

