Sausage Stuffed Bell Peppers

Standard

Every Tuesday night I have a late class that goes until 9:30, so I don’t get home until around 10pm… I’m taking Hatha Yoga teacher training over the next 8 months (I’m one month in), and I’m loving it!  I cook mostly every night with the exception of a dinner or lunch out on the weekends so my husband has the luxury of not having to cook often 🙂 I had been leaving him hot dogs to cook for himself (good one’s like Chicago dogs, ) and it’s was beginning to be apparent that that was getting old…fast. My husband is a good cook when he wants to cook but usually if I don’t tell him what’s available or options he thinks the fridge is empty…even right after I go to the grocery. So last night I switched it up a bit and pre-made some stuffed bells since I found some good ground pan sausage on sale at the grocery.  All he had to do was pop them in the oven and make a side salad…pretty simple right? Success! I made enough for 2 peppers so he could eat the 2nd for work today. All I asked in return… was to shoot a photo for the blog 🙂

Prep: 40 min (not active, rice  that I used was whole wheat and wild so it takes longer but you could use something else).

Cook: Rice as directed, sausage mixture 10-15 min, baking the completed bells 30 min

Serves: 2

Ingredients:

  • 1/2 lb Pan sausage
  • 1/2 C. Uncooked rice (cook as directed, I like to use chicken broth rather than water).
  • 1 Shallot, diced
  • 1 Clove of garlic, minced
  • 1/2 C. Mushrooms, I used baby bellas, any will do, chopped
  • 2 Stalks of celery, sliced into quarter inch slices
  • 1 TBS Zestybeandog Fine Herb Blend 
  • 1/2 tsp Salt
  • 1/2 tsp Pepper
  • 1/2 TBS Butter

Instructions:

  1. Cook rice and set aside off heat.
  2. In a medium skillet on high melt butter and add garlic, shallots, celery, and mushrooms. Cook for about 2 min.
  3. Add pan sausage and mix well, browning sausage. Cook until done and taste, add ZBD Herb Blend, taste again and if it needs the salt and pepper add it ( more than likely you are buying pre seasoned pan sausage so you don’t want to over do it with salt for sure.) Cook for an additional 2-3 min and then gently drain grease if there is too much.  Return sausage to pan and add rice mixing it all together.
  4. Cut tops of bells and discard the inner membrane and seeds. Stuff the bells with the mixture and then enjoy a couple of spoonfuls of the little bit that may be left in the pan 🙂
  5. You can cook these right away or save them to cook for later or even the next day (these would be great for a dinner party to prep the night before, less work the day of). 🙂
  6. If cooking right after you prepare pre-heat oven to 350 F and cook for 25-30 min if you are refrigerating them and then cooking pre-heat to 375 F and cook for 30-35 min.
Cheers!
About zestybeandog

I live in Austin with my wonderful husband, dog Ginger, and cat Skiddy. We are a pretty laid back group (except for Ginger). When I'm not teaching yoga, personal training, or dog walking... I'm in the kitchen. I'm always experimenting with new ingredients and thinking of ways to prepare fresh foods in a unique way. I hope to update the blog 4-5 times a week. I've had several friends, family, and clients inquire about my recipes so here it goes. What to expect: Healthy recipes that are good for you, some classics (that have been spruced up), some not so healthy recipes (still made with quality ingredients that can be enjoyed in moderation), and beer and wine parings/reviews! I hope you enjoy, cheers!

11 responses »

  1. I love those make ahead dinners! And leftovers for lunch always make me happy too! I do yoga every morning and those days I miss just never are the same! Good luck in your classes!!

  2. Pingback: Sausage Stuffed Bell Peppers « The Complete Cook Book

Leave a Reply

