Kimchi Fries! Don’t knock it until you try it, even you kimchi haters out there…

Standard

I love this stuff, yes kimchi…call me crazy, I don’t care!  While kimchi is actually quite healthy, in this dish it’s transformed into a whole new sinful concoction once you add fries, ribeye meat, a TON of cheese, and chipolte mayo. If this dish were calorie free and fat free, well I might just eat this every day… for now I will refrain and just indulge when I’ve had 1 too many (thanks for being there Chilantro) or when Evan begs me to make them on a Sunday (usually he doesn’t have to beg to hard for these things).

Prep: 15-20 min

Cook Time: 10 min

Serves: 2 (meal size) could serve 4 as a snack

Ingredients:

  • Oreida fast food style french fries, 1/2 a bag or so
  • 1 C. Cheese, your pick I use cheddar jack blend
  • 1/2 Jar of Kimchi, you can find this at HEB in the produce section by the tofu, or make your own…
  • 1/2lb of thinly sliced ribeye or strip meat, the butcher can do this for you or you can freeze the steak for 30-45 min and slice it yourself with a SHARP knife. AKA bulgogi.
  • 1/2 Onion, chopped
  • 1 Handful of cilantro, ripped or chopped
  • Chipolte mayo and Sirracha – as much as you like
  • 2 TBS Soy Sauce

Instructions:

  1. Chop produce and slice meat if doing your self, throw meat in a bowl with the soy sauce.
  2. Heat skillet for cooking beef on high.
  3. Heat oil as directed on bag of fries and deep fry for specified time.
  4. Cook meat, it will cook quickly since it’s so thin.
  5. Make two mounds of fries, put cheese on top of fries, then beef, then kimchi, onions and cilantro, mayo and sirracha ( you don’t have to do it in this order but there is a method so the cheese melts).
  6. Serve with ice cold beer and enjoy!
Cheers or should I say Gun Bae!
About zestybeandog

I live in Austin with my wonderful husband, dog Ginger, and cat Skiddy. We are a pretty laid back group (except for Ginger). When I'm not teaching yoga, personal training, or dog walking... I'm in the kitchen. I'm always experimenting with new ingredients and thinking of ways to prepare fresh foods in a unique way. I hope to update the blog 4-5 times a week. I've had several friends, family, and clients inquire about my recipes so here it goes. What to expect: Healthy recipes that are good for you, some classics (that have been spruced up), some not so healthy recipes (still made with quality ingredients that can be enjoyed in moderation), and beer and wine parings/reviews! I hope you enjoy, cheers!

8 responses »

  1. Made this tonight with pork strip meat (accidentally got pork!) Marinated the pork in a mix of soy, chipotle mayo (Taco Bell’s Chipotle sauce mixed with Mayo), garlic, and green onion for an hour. Also left out the cilantro (hubby and I don’t like it!)

    DELICIOUS! We both LOVE Kimchi (and were shocked to find it all the way out in our tiny West Texas HEB!) We will definitely be making this again.

  2. I have never had Kimchi I guess I could try it on fries and see what happens
    Thanks for liking my Hoppy Easter Cupcakes!!!

Leave a Reply

