Delicious Crock Pot Chicken and Sweet Potatoes

Standard

On days that I’m super busy I find that it’s very helpful to throw something in the crock pot for dinner since I know I will be reluctant to cook when I get home…usually resulting in ordering a craptastic pizza or eating out -spending too much $$…  So when I can I usually throw something like this together when I come home for lunch to let the dog out.  It takes about 15 min or so and then all I have to do when I’m off work is serve it up  🙂

Prep: 15 min

Cook Time: 4.5-8 hours (4.5 high, 8 low)

Serves: 4

Ingredients:

  • 4 Chicken thighs, remove fat if desired (I remove all but one).
  • 1/2 Yellow onion, sliced into thin slices
  • 1 Large sweet potato, sliced into wedges
  • 1 garlic clove, mashed and chopped
  • 1/2 tsp. Sea salt
  • 1/4 tsp. Fresh ground black pepper
  • 1/4 tsp. Garlic powder
  • 1.5 C. Chicken stock
  • 1/4 C. White wine
  • 6 Stems of fresh thyme, removed from stem
  • 1/2 TBS Dried herb blend
  • Wild rice if desired to serve with chicken
Instructions:
  1. Heat medium/large skillet on high, place chicken meat side down and brown thighs (about 5 min). Leave grease in skillet and turn to low.
  2. Place thighs in crock, browned side up.
  3. Cook slivered onions and garlic in the chicken grease, if you didn’t skin your chicken of fat you may want to discard some of that fat with a paper towel (careful it’s hot). By leaving one thigh with the fat I find that it leaves just enough for the onion to cook in, plus my husband likes the skin… so he gets that every once in a while as a treat. Cook onion and garlic until lightly browned.
  4. Add raw sweet potato wedges to crock pot surrounding the thighs, pour stock and wine on top of potatoes and chicken.
  5. Add onions and garlic to the top of chicken and then add seasonings including herb blend.
  6. Cook for 4.5 hour on high or 8 on low in a crock pot.
  7. Serve with rice or noodles if desired.
About zestybeandog

I live in Austin with my wonderful husband, dog Ginger, and cat Skiddy. We are a pretty laid back group (except for Ginger). When I'm not teaching yoga, personal training, or dog walking... I'm in the kitchen. I'm always experimenting with new ingredients and thinking of ways to prepare fresh foods in a unique way. I hope to update the blog 4-5 times a week. I've had several friends, family, and clients inquire about my recipes so here it goes. What to expect: Healthy recipes that are good for you, some classics (that have been spruced up), some not so healthy recipes (still made with quality ingredients that can be enjoyed in moderation), and beer and wine parings/reviews! I hope you enjoy, cheers!

2 responses »

  1. This recipe sounds like a winner!
    I’m with you as far as using the slow cooker – but I have an additional reason… I LOVE coming home to the aroma!! I just put a recipe up on my blog (green chile with pork) that I do in the slow cooker, even though it could easily be done on the stove top. Nothing makes a place feel like home more than delicious food cooking, oh yeah!

    Don
    http://thisguycancook.wordpress.com

  2. Thanks Don! I’m with you on that one, I LOVE the aroma and there’s nothing better than coming home to a house filled with the delicious smell of food and not having to cook anything!!! 🙂 Cheers to that!

Leave a Reply

