1st Annual Zestybeandog Chili Cook – Off Was a Success!

Standard

An ENORMOUS thank you to everyone who came out and made this an awesome event!  Especially to our 5 judges, Chef, April, Matt, Aaron, and Maggie.  Two of the judges have 50+ years of culinary experience combined and the other 3 judges were normal people just like you and I.   They had the hardest task…tasting and judging 12 chili’s!  We had 12 chili entries (we had a few back out but that was expected).  In the end the 3 top chili’s were all different in their own way.  I was really surprised how different all of the chili’s were.  Some contained chocolate and some had game meats rather than beef, in the end not one chili tasted quite like another.

Here’s a summary of our top 3 chili’s entered.

Liz’s Chili from Team Dutch Lovin’:

Liz’s chili was made with a combination of ground lamb, venison, and bacon.  A multitude of peppers and veggies were hand roasted over an open fire, and the chili was cooked overnight, she put a lot of love into this recipe and it shows.

Jen’s chili (my chili) from Team “Dirty Butt’s”

I used ground bison, fresh veggies, and some common spices like chili powder and cumin and some not so common spices that shall remain a secret 🙂  All simmered together for the better part of a day.  This is my Dad’s recipe base that I have tweaked through the years of making it on my own.

Amanda’s Chili from Team Bean Around the Block

She used multiple meats as well :Ground Pork, Ground Beef, Ground Chuck
Applewood smoked bacon grease was used to brown meat.  Then cooked whole pieces of same bacon placed in crock-pot while simmered and removed before tasting.  This gave it a sweet, smokey finish. 🙂
Congratulations ladies, I can’t say I’m surprised there were only female winners…but next year let’s see some more men in the mix and get at least one male winner!
About zestybeandog

I live in Austin with my wonderful husband, dog Ginger, and cat Skiddy. We are a pretty laid back group (except for Ginger). When I'm not teaching yoga, personal training, or dog walking... I'm in the kitchen. I'm always experimenting with new ingredients and thinking of ways to prepare fresh foods in a unique way. I hope to update the blog 4-5 times a week. I've had several friends, family, and clients inquire about my recipes so here it goes. What to expect: Healthy recipes that are good for you, some classics (that have been spruced up), some not so healthy recipes (still made with quality ingredients that can be enjoyed in moderation), and beer and wine parings/reviews! I hope you enjoy, cheers!

2 responses »

Leave a Reply

