(Almost) Dad’s Chili… I hope I wasn’t supposed to keep this a secret!

Standard

This is my version of the chili my Dad makes but instead of ground beef I use BISON, sorry Dad for butchering your chili… but it’s so good this way!

Prep: 10 min

Cook: 2 hrs

Ingredients:

  • 1 lb ground bison
  • 1/2 large onion, diced
  • 1 green bell pepper, diced
  • 16 oz canned diced tomatoes
  • 16 oz can of Cento crushed tomatoes or Campbell’s Tomato Soup (my Dad uses the soup, I use the tomatoes).
  • 28 oz of Cento Tomato Puree
  • OPTIONAL: 1 can of kidney beans
  • 1 clove of garlic, minced
  • 1/3 C chili powder
  • 1 tsp onion powder
  • 1 tsp salt
  • 1 pinch of sugar
  • 1/2 tsp cayenne powder
  • 1/2 tsp fresh ground pepper

Instructions:

  1. Chop produce
  2. Brown bison, onions, garlic, and bells in a large  pot on the stove, about 10 min. (their shouldn’t be much grease from bison so don’t worry about draining fat).
  3. Add canned goods.
  4. Add spices
  5. Bring to a boil and then reduce to simmer for 2 hours.
  6. Salt to taste at the end.

Serve with brown rice or Fritos and cheese… maybe even a little Tabasco 🙂  Easy to prep and freezes well!

Bison on FoodistaBison

About zestybeandog

I live in Austin with my wonderful husband, dog Ginger, and cat Skiddy. We are a pretty laid back group (except for Ginger). When I'm not teaching yoga, personal training, or dog walking... I'm in the kitchen. I'm always experimenting with new ingredients and thinking of ways to prepare fresh foods in a unique way. I hope to update the blog 4-5 times a week. I've had several friends, family, and clients inquire about my recipes so here it goes. What to expect: Healthy recipes that are good for you, some classics (that have been spruced up), some not so healthy recipes (still made with quality ingredients that can be enjoyed in moderation), and beer and wine parings/reviews! I hope you enjoy, cheers!

Leave a Reply

