Ahi Tuna Tartare on Baked Wonton Crisps with Tofu Soup and Salad with Ginger Dressing

Standard

I made this as a meal, although the tuna tartare would be a great appetizer for a party!

Prep: 15-20min

Cook Time: (Soup) 20 min

Serves: 3

Ingredients:

  • 2 Sashimi grade tuna steaks (.3-.4 lbs each) (small cubes)
  • 1 Avocado (small cubes)
  • 2-3 TBS cilantro, chopped finely
  • 2 TBS green onion, just greens, slice finely
  • 2 TBS sesame seeds (I do one TBS toasted and one I leave regular for a nice contrast).
  • 1 tsp Sesame oil
  • 2 TBS soy sauce
  • 1 tsp Grated ginger
  • 1 tsp orange zest
  • 1 clove of garlic, minced
  • 1 pinch of sea salt
  • 2 limes, juiced
  • Cilantro for garnish

Wonton Crisps

  • Wonton wrappers (9-10)
  • Olive oil spray
  • Sesame seeds for wontons

Tofu Soup

  • 1 container of organic chicken stock, 32 oz
  • 1/2 cup shiitake mushrooms (I use regular because I was out).
  • 1/2 a block of soft tofu, silken, cubed
  • 1 tsp garlic powder
  • 1 tsp onion powder
  • 1 tsp ginger powder
  • 1/8 cup scallions
  • salt and pepper to taste

Instructions:

Tuna Tartare:

Mix tuna, green onions, sesame seeds, soy sauce, sesame oil, ginger, garlic, orange zest, cilantro and salt together in a medium bowl. Mix well.  Set back in the fridge.

When ready to serve add lime juice and avocado and mix gently.

Tofu Soup:

Mix all ingredients and cook for 20 min.

Wonton Crisps:

Preheat Oven to 350 degrees, lay 10 wontons on a foil or parchment paper tray (spray foil first), spray tops of wonton and sprinkle with sesame seeds – cook until golden brown and crispy (about 7 min for me with gas).  Watch em’ carefully!

Plating:  Place Tuna Tartare on top of wonton crisps, top tartare with a spring of cilantro and serve with tofu soup and your choice of a salad with ginger or sesame dressing.  This is an easy and healthy dish that so refreshing!

Pair with a Japanese beer or Sake.

 

Tartare

About zestybeandog

I live in Austin with my wonderful husband, dog Ginger, and cat Skiddy. We are a pretty laid back group (except for Ginger). When I'm not teaching yoga, personal training, or dog walking... I'm in the kitchen. I'm always experimenting with new ingredients and thinking of ways to prepare fresh foods in a unique way. I hope to update the blog 4-5 times a week. I've had several friends, family, and clients inquire about my recipes so here it goes. What to expect: Healthy recipes that are good for you, some classics (that have been spruced up), some not so healthy recipes (still made with quality ingredients that can be enjoyed in moderation), and beer and wine parings/reviews! I hope you enjoy, cheers!

2 responses »

  1. Yummy!…This looks scrumptous. I think I will make this tonight. In the mean time….do you have any good recipes for Ceviche? Mom

Leave a Reply

