A Simple Healthy Lunch…that’s filling and has 4 grams of fiber

Standard

Pesto Rotini with Campari Tomatoes and Fresh Basil

Cook Time: 12 min

Prep Time: 1 min

One Serving

INGREDIENTS:

  1. 1 cup uncooked rotini (whole wheat, I like Ronzoni)
  2. 2 campari tomatoes* sliced then quartered
  3. 2 fresh basil leaves (chiffonade)
  4. 1 tbs of pesto
  5. Salt and pepper to taste  (I like a pinch of cayenne).
  6. Add fresh mozzarella if desired

Cook pasta as directed  and mix in the rest.

Serve warm or cold and enjoy!

*Carmpari tomatoes are sweet and noted for their juiciness, low acidity, and lack of mealiness. They are bigger than cherry tomatoes, but are smaller than plum tomatoes


About zestybeandog

I live in Austin with my wonderful husband, dog Ginger, and cat Skiddy. We are a pretty laid back group (except for Ginger). When I'm not teaching yoga, personal training, or dog walking... I'm in the kitchen. I'm always experimenting with new ingredients and thinking of ways to prepare fresh foods in a unique way. I hope to update the blog 4-5 times a week. I've had several friends, family, and clients inquire about my recipes so here it goes. What to expect: Healthy recipes that are good for you, some classics (that have been spruced up), some not so healthy recipes (still made with quality ingredients that can be enjoyed in moderation), and beer and wine parings/reviews! I hope you enjoy, cheers!

3 responses »

  1. I will look forward to your postings! I’m going to go to the bookstore here and buy an Asian cookbook – I’d like to find one that has Japanese, Chinese and Korean. I’ll keep you posted on any good recipes from over here.

    • Please do pass some recipes on, that’s probably one of my favorite cuisines! Oh I cannot wait to go to Seoul and Thailand – I’m going to lose 10lbs before I go just so I can try everything 🙂

Leave a Reply

