Hello World… I’ve missed you!

Standard

It’s been quite sometime since my last post… A LOT has happened…

I’ll be short and sweet and wrap it up with a recipe.

Let’s start from where I left off:

MARCH: Team Zestybeandog participated in the Food Experiments SMOKE Experiment (3rd annual event and third time to enter). This year we WON 3rd place Judges pick!

APRIL: Evan and I bought our first home! We love it and couldn’t be happier with it and our new neighborhood!

MAY:  We unpacked a few boxes and then packed our suitcases for Singapore to visit Evan’s parents and Thailand for 2 weeks! The food was AMAZING! I need to do a full post just on that! It was also my 29th Birthday on the 8th!

JUNE: We came back to the U.S. and unpacked some more boxes.  We have been slowly settling in to our new home.  There is no time to be bored as I’m always finding something to do with the house when I’m not working one of my many jobs!  I plan to blog more often and catch up on reading your blogs, as I have missed it dearly!

It feels good to be (somewhat) back to “normal”!

 

Snapper

 

Fresh Snapper in Homemade Broth.  

I made this meal while visiting in Singapore, my in-laws had a full kitchen in their apartment, in fact their apartment was huge, bigger than our new house (about 1,800 sqft).  So there was plenty of space to cook!

Evan and I went to a local Hawker Center and bought a plethora or fresh veggies, fish, and more.  Everything was so fresh and priced nicely.

Prep: 1 hr

Cook: 7-10 min or until done

Serves: 4

Ingredients:

  • 1 whole Snapper (2lbs or so), filet the fish and reserve the head and carcass.
  • 3 TBS roughly chopped ginger
  • 3 TBS roughly chopped garlic
  • 1/4 C. Light soy sauce
  • 1 TBS lime juice
  • 2 TBS Fish sauce
  • 4 tsp. Fried shallots
  • 2 tsp. finely sliced Thai chilies
  • Pepper, black (just a sprinkle or so).
  • 2 C. Chicken stock or veggie stock (no sodium), 2 C. Water

Instructions:

  1. Place fish head and carcass in a large pot, add stock, water, ginger, garlic. Bring to boil and then simmer for 30-45 min. Eat the fish cheeks or give them to someone you love (they are the best part).
  2. Strain stock then add soy, fish sauce, and lime juice.
  3. Steam fish filets for 7-10 min.  Covered.
  4. Place each fish filet in bowl and spoon stock over it until it’s sitting in a nice amount.
  5. Garnish with black pepper, Thai chilies, and fried shallots.
  6. Serve immediately while hot.

I will post all about Singapore and Thailand asap! Cheers for now!

 

 

About zestybeandog

I live in Austin with my wonderful husband, dog Ginger, and cat Skiddy. We are a pretty laid back group (except for Ginger). When I'm not teaching yoga, personal training, or dog walking... I'm in the kitchen. I'm always experimenting with new ingredients and thinking of ways to prepare fresh foods in a unique way. I hope to update the blog 4-5 times a week. I've had several friends, family, and clients inquire about my recipes so here it goes. What to expect: Healthy recipes that are good for you, some classics (that have been spruced up), some not so healthy recipes (still made with quality ingredients that can be enjoyed in moderation), and beer and wine parings/reviews! I hope you enjoy, cheers!

8 responses »

  1. As the recipient of this dish, I am qualified to say that it was great! I was lucky enough to have the Zesty Beandog prepare a full meal for me and my guests!! I’ll be missing that market across the street, but she made it truly memorable.

Leave a Reply

